Short Stories

Of a Wife, Mom, Sister, Daughter, Aunt and Friend

An interesting way to look at it…

Posted by kerenmelissa on September 6, 2008

Like many people in this nation right now, I am faced with a hard choice on who to vote for.  To me, both candidates lack luster and I’m really not impressed with either one.  I’m not so old school or conservative to say “I’m only voting democratic bc that’s what I vote” or “I’m only voting republican bc that’s what I vote”  BUT it is SOOO incredibly important to vote!!  This year may be the BIGGEST election the US has ever seen!!

That being said, I read this post on a friend’s blog and it got me to thinking.  So, since it got me to thinking, I thought it might get you to thinking as well.  You can view her whole post by clicking on the above link .. but here’s the jist of what she wrote about.

__________________________________________________________________

  1. We Christians should be in the pocket of no political party; but should evaluate both candidates and parties by our biblically based moral compass.
  2. We don’t vote on only one issue, but see biblical foundations for our concerns over many issues.
  3. We advocate a consistent ethic of life from womb to tomb, and one that challenges the selective moralities of both the left and the right.
  4. We will respect the integrity of our Christian brothers and sisters in their sincere efforts to apply Christian commitments to the important decisions of this election; knowing that people of faith and conscience will be voting both ways in this election year.
  5. We will not attack our fellow Christians as Democratic or Republican partisans, but rather will expect and respect the practice of putting our faith first in this election year; even if we reach different conclusions.

On November 4, Christians will not be able to vote for the Kingdom of God. It is not on the ballot. Yet, there are very important choices to make which will significantly impact the common good and the health of this nation–and of the world. So we urge our Christian brothers and sisters to exercise their crucial right to vote and to apply their Christian conscience to those decisions. And in the finite and imperfect political decisions of this and any election, we promise to respect the Christian political conscience of our brothers and sisters in Christ.

________________________________________________________

Interesting, huh? 

Thanks for the post and the thoughts Emily.

One Response to “An interesting way to look at it…”

  1. True true… that is my whole “thing”… already our nation, as “one nation under God” is not doing so great… and I think with one candidate, it will only get worse… and that is what scares the S%$# out of me! 🙂 Good thoughts, Keren’s friend!

Leave a comment